Archaeology Podcasts

Since I’ve moved I’ve never bothered to get internet at home, nor do I have a television or for that matter, a home phone.  This has helped tremendously with dissertation reading and writing, but has cut down significantly on my time to answer student emails, blog, build things on Second Life, etc.  So it should probably go as I enter my twilight years of graduate school and get ready to start applying for jobs.  I’ve compensated for my lack of home internet access in several ways, including downloading podcasts at school so I have something to listen to while I cook dinner and do the dishes. (Full disclosure: I also have a first generation iphone, so I’m not entirely offline, but am unlikely to respond to emails or browse while using it.)

The state of podcasting has changed since I last paid any attention to it several years ago.  There are now several archaeology-related podcasts, and two in particular that I quite like.

The Naked Archaeologist – I must admit to having a bit of bias for liking this podcast as it features my friend Thomas Birch as the “backyard archaeologist.” His interview with Adolf Fridriksson about predictive modeling of the location of viking graves is excellent listening.

BBC’s A History of the World in 100 Objects – As I was mentioning to a friend earlier, I don’t really like the BBC’s websites, as they frequently make my web browser crash.  Good thing I usually grab podcasts through iTunes, though I have some problems with that particular piece of software as well.  Anyway, this podcast is a wonderful series that features a particular object, then links that object to its context within the world.  Sometimes it can be a little overreaching, such as the latest podcast featuring Ken Den’s Sandal Label as an example of a model of power in ancient Egypt that “resonates uncannily throughout the world today.”

Hmmm….

Okay, so I might still be a little stuck on shoes.

4 responses to “Archaeology Podcasts

  1. Good tips! I really need to get in to podcasts more myself

  2. Big fan of the Stonepages Archeo News podcast BAJR puts out. David Connolly is a joy to listen to.

  3. I like the BBC History of the World because they used one of my artifact photos :)

  4. Pingback: Podcasts of Note | Middle Savagery

Leave a Reply

