Superstitious

P1010602

I’m not a “spiritual” person and I don’t believe in ghosts or horoscopes (though finding out that my advisor is a metal dragon–mechagodzilla–in the Chinese system was pretty hilarious), but I really can’t resist a good fortune cookie.

I passed my orals!

The one piece of advice that I never got, but that I will now try to give to as many other graduate students as possible is: be happy, confident and excited about your work.  Passion and enthusiasm will be reflected back to you, just as fear and self-doubt will help them destroy you.

Well, that, and study your ass off.

Now I just have this little ol’ thing called a dissertation to write.  No sweat, right?  heh.

5 responses to “Superstitious

  1. As if there was ever any doubt you’d pass.

    I’m very proud of you.

  2. You should have brought this to the exam — to show us afterward, of course.

  3. Paul the Brit Guy

    Well done, Smarty pants

  4. Well said:
    “The one piece of advice that I never got, but that I will now try to give to as many other graduate students as possible is: be happy, confident and excited about your work. Passion and enthusiasm will be reflected back to you, just as fear and self-doubt will help them destroy you.”

    That took me years to learn, but it’s true. Get excited about things you like. It makes me sad when I see that youngsters are hindred by fear of authority, lack of selfestem.

Leave a Reply

